When someone shares a folder and gives you edit permissions to it, add the shared folder to your own OneDrive to make it easier to edit and work with the folder and its contents. If you sync the folder to your Windows or Mac computers running the OneDrive app, you can work with the folder offline.
Shared folders added to your OneDrive do not use any of your OneDrive storage space. They only count against the folder owner’s storage space.
You can also access shared folders from your Shared list on OneDrive.com or in the OneDrive mobile apps. You can still copy, move, edit, rename, share, and delete anything in the folder.
Add a shared folder to your OneDrive
Find shared folders in your OneDrive
Shared folders you’ve added to your OneDrive appear in the OneDrive website in your Files view.
If you use the OneDrive sync app on your computer, you can sync the folder to your computer. On a Windows PC, find the folder in Windows Explorer; on a Mac computer, use the Finder to locate it.
NOTE: If you have the OneDrive sync app but the shared folder does not sync to your computer, you might have selective sync turned on. This isn't common, but to fix it, go to your computer's system tray (if you use a Mac, go to the menu bar) and find the sync app.
Moving shared files and shared folders in your OneDrive
When you move files between shared folders, they lose their existing permissions and get the permissions from the folder you moved them to. For example, if you move an item to a read-only folder, the item becomes read-only as well. Moving an item from a shared folder to an unshared folder means that item is no longer shared with anyone. If you move items only within a shared folder, there is no change to any of the assigned permissions.
While you can move shared files, you can’t move shared folders on OneDrive.com. If you sync OneDrive to your computer, any shared folder you move is copied to the destination location and then removed from your OneDrive. It is still available in your Shared list.
NOTE: Be careful when moving folders, as it can affect the folder's sharing permissions. If you move a shared folder into another folder, it takes the permissions of the destination folder. This means people can access it only if they also have permissions to the destination folder - if the destination folder isn't shared, then the folder you moved is also not shared anymore.
You can rename shared folders that you have added to your OneDrive. The new name you give to the folder is visible only to you, and will appear with that name anywhere you access your OneDrive, including OneDrive.com, the OneDrive app on your computer, or the OneDrive mobile apps. The name change won’t be visible to the shared folder owner, nor anyone else with permissions to the folder.
NOTE: Renaming or changing any of the folder's contents, however, is visible to others sharing the folder.
Deleting shared files and shared folders from your OneDrive
Files deleted from a shared folder on OneDrive.com are sent to the recycle bin of only the shared folder’s owner. However, if you sync your OneDrive on a computer, items deleted from a shared folder do appear in the computer’s recycle bin.
Note: Only the owner of a shared folder can restore an item deleted from the folder.
To remove a shared folder on OneDrive.com: